Aug 1

 

I was in Lucca today, looking for the market. I went all around the city, and even asked for help, but could not find it! Where do they hide this thing? Or was it canceled due to the August holiday?

Anyways, I had a good time looking around. I got  some more  relaxing, reading, and sitting. The real gem of the day was finding the Aquaduct!  After some research, I learned that the aquaduct in Lucca was completed in 1823, so not as old as the rest of the town.  The structure does not carry water any longer, but I think they have installed a buried pipeline along the corridor. Still an imposing, impressive structure.

 

Aug 2

 

It been a quiet weekend in Lake Ghivizzano, not my home town – until last night, that is. The music started around 8 or 9 pm. At first I thought it was coming from a neighbor’s apartment, but then it got louder and louder, and I realized it was coming from the main square.

I was visiting with the neighbors, enjoying the evening and watching the waxing moon over Tuscany. They tried to explain what the music was all about… some sort of festival; not the August holiday, Ferragosto,  which is later this week. I asked if it was a wedding. No, they said, a wedding is a ceremony, then eating, then people go home. But in Albania, where they are from,  weddings are a big party that goes on for a while.

Around 10 pm I walked down to see what it was all about. It was not in the main piazza, as I guessed, but was an event set up in the parking lot across Via Nazionale. The event seems to be another version of the community variety show that was held two weeks ago in Ghivz alto. This one is a bit different, in that it seems to be a dance competition, where kids have practiced various classical dances… waltz, polka, etc. They perform in couples. There may be more to it all but that is what I saw the short time I was there. 

Aug 3

 

I found the post office and it was… surprise…. open on Monday!  I bought my stamps and they took my postcards for me. There was a very helpful little old lady behind the counter.

